Skip to content

FO: Reunion cowl

5 July 2011

Reunion cowl

As always, I’m behind on posting. I’ve got swept up in a more professional blog the last few weeks so all of my posting energy has been put towards that. Also, despite having another FO, and worn it publicly, I am not happy with it so am remiss to blog about it. So onwards!

I don’t think it’s too often that I get yarn that I want to knit with immediately unless I have bought it for something very specific with a deadline. This was not the case here. I bought this yarn at Squam. It was the yarn I saw and had to have because the colour was so gorgeous. I saw it and bought it without a second thought. It came as a kit with the cowl pattern though to be honest the pattern could’ve been for a toilet seat cosy and I would’ve still bought it. I didn’t even notice that it was a heavy lace weight/light fingering weight yarn. It was all about the Benjamin’s colour.

It turns out that the pattern it came with was pretty simple, shows off the yarn well and doesn’t cause any flashing or other horribleness you often get with hand-dyed yarns. So I wound up the yarn, by hand, like I always do. Except that this took me two nights just to wind. And I don’t mean like 20 minutes each night. It was two quite intense nights of winding. The yardage isn’t obscene, it’s just that things got quite messy and it required a lot of patience and pretending like I didn’t know what scissors are.

Night three saw me try to use some sort of provisional cast on. I was pretty pleased I got it all cast on. Then I went to knit and I don’t know what happened but the cast on just started unraveling and I couldn’t fix it.

So on night four I cast on normally thinking, “Hooray! Stockinette in the round! This will fly off the needles!” It turns out that when you start with 330 stitches and every. single. row. also contains 330 stitches, it takes quite awhile unless you are a knitting machine. And I am not a knitting machine. I knit on this exclusively. I even knit in the subway (hard to do because usually it is jam-packed and also I am only on it for 5-10mins max) and at a couple afternoon seminars.

Reunion cowl

I’m pleased with it. The colour of the yarn is still gorgeous (I want more) and I didn’t knit on too small of needles so it is nice and drapey, but not lacy. The cowl wraps around my neck twice (maybe even 3 times) and I can even lift up one wrap to wear it a bit like a hood. And, I only had 1g of yarn left. 1g!! I didn’t even faff about making modifications to rows. Actually I probably would’ve had 0g left as I technically forgot one row at the end.

Stats

Pattern: Reunion Cowl by Natalie Selles
Yarn: Indigodragonfly MCN
Needles: 3.25mm (& 3.75mm for cast on / bind off)

Mods

Because the thought of purling 330 stitches over several rows seemed horrible, I knit the garter stitch bits back and forth and seamed them up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryony permalink
    5 July 2011 20:39

    Nice :) lovely colour. Hope the wear makes up for the hassle :)

    • Shannon permalink*
      6 July 2011 14:26

      It definitely will be nice to wear in the autumn! And tried and found out I can indeed get it around 3x so it will be like a really cosy neckwarmer!

Talk to me!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

